Graham Fieggen


Graham has served as the Helen and Morris Mauerberger Professor and Head of the Division of Neurosurgery at the University of Cape Town since 2008. His interests include paediatric and functional neurosurgery as well as education and the development of neurosurgery in Africa. He was elected as the inaugural president of the Continental Association of African Neurosurgical Societies in 2014.

Allan Taylor

Past President

Allan is associate professor in the division of neurosurgery at the University of Cape Town and head of clinical unit at Groote Schuur Hospital. He has a special interest in neurovascular disorders and endovascular treatment.

John Ouma

President Elect

Head of Neurosurgery at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital & Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic hospital & Witwatersrand University. Examiner and Senate, CMSA. Special interests -Cerebrovascular and skull base surgery, Spine surgery. Golf, mountain biking.

Patrick Lekgwara


David Roytowski


David is a neurosurgeon in the division of Neurosurgery at Stellenbosch University. His special interests include endoscopic, skull-base and spinal neurosurgery.


Rohen Harrichandparsad


Gian Marus

Medico-legal Rep

Neurosurgeon in private practice, Johannesburg. Assisting SNSA in Medicolegal Interactions and Forums.

Tony Figaji

 Scientific Chair

Tony is the head of paediatric neurosurgery at Red Cross Children’s Hospital and a Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Cape Town. He is the National Research Foundation SARChI Chair of Clinical Neurosciences and current president of the International Neurotrauma Society. His clinical interests are in paediatric neuro-oncology surgery and intraoperative neurophysiology; his research interests are in acute brain injury.

Past Presidents